In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that people nowadays can do online shopping, working and communication and tend to stay away from face-to-face interaction with others. While there are some drawbacks to that idea, I believe it is still primarily a positive trend.

There are some downsides associated with shopping, working or communicating through the internet. Chief among these is that it can lead to a lack of genuine emotions. To be more specific, when engaging in face-to-face contact, individuals can feel the presence of the others through shaking hands or hugging, promoting emotional connection. In addition, online working and interacting with others can result in a sense of detachment. This is because people tend to stay at their own place without gathering together in one location, reducing a sense of community.

Nevertheless, I still believe that using the internet to shop, work and communicate can bring more benefits. One particular advantage is its greater convenience and time-saving. For example, working parents do not have to travel long distances to their workplace on a regular basis, leaving them with more leisure time for family responsibilities or personal activities. Moreover, online shopping and working can reduce premises and labour costs as employers no longer have to allocate money for staff hiring or renting places. As a result, more capital would be invested in other vital aspects such as increasing employee benefits or improving product quality and customer satisfaction.

In conclusion, while engaging in online shopping, working or interaction can cause a lack of sense of emotional genuinity and connection, I still believe it is largely a positive development as it can save them a lot of time and result in the cost reduction on premises and labours.