In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the modern world with technological development indeed provides a large number of online platforms for working, shopping, and communicating. And also people tend to live without any face-to-face contact with others. In my opinion, I believe there is both a positive and negative development.

On the one hand, the Internet can be very handy in many ways. Many people use it to keep in touch with friends and family, using Facebook, Skype, or Instagram to send instant messages or to enjoy a quick chat. Many also use the internet for online shopping, thus saving time and petrol on trips to the supermarket as well as hunting around different sites for bargains. However, it is in terms of work that the Internet offers the most potential benefits. More and more people are working or even studying from home, at hours that suit their schedules. For example, the COVID-19 epidemic period is complicated, Everyone needs to practice social distancing, and companies and schools are choosing to work online to solve this problem. This has opened up a new trend of working from home, a trend that has brought a lot of job potential to young people.

On the other hand, In terms of society, the increasing number of people using the internet is causing a climb of social issues. For example, in the modern world, a live chat platform is a common means of communication that makes people interact less with others face-to-face. This might drive them to results of misunderstandings because sometimes they cannot express things through typing. Offline shopping is another instance, Compared with the online platform, people can buy suitable clothes at shops where they can try on and avoid bad materials. In addition, teamwork requires clear communication between team members, which is hard to do online. Sometimes people find it hard to communicate without any face-to-face contact with others at the same time. Therefore, attending a meeting helps them strengthen a team relationship.

In conclusion, the internet provides both developments. Therefore, a balance between these is necessary to improve ways to be more effective in working, communicating, and shopping.