In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern times, there are many ways for people to communicate with each other online instead of meeting face-to-face. While there are several drawbacks, this essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this issue before concluding that this development is largely positive.

One of the drawbacks of contacting people online is the potential for miscommunication. Without observing our partner’s initial reactions, we cannot psychologically adjust our reflexes, which would considerably alter the outcome of a conversation. An example of this is the increasing trend of breakups during lockdowns, since most meetings must be conducted via the Internet and misunderstandings during conversations can result in splitting up.

However, I believe the aforementioned negatives are eclipsed by some advantages. Communicating online allows users to have many conversations at the same time, making it more convenient to talk with other people on the go. This may be especially advantageous to individuals with busy schedules or disabilities. Moreover, people can not only communicate online but also complete most daily obligations such as shopping or working. The requirement of physically appearing at a shop or a bureau building is time-consuming and difficult for certain people. The invention of online shopping and working from home facilitates these processes as it does not require people to travel to reach their desired destination. This is the reason why most companies, including Twitter and Facebook as the most prominent examples, allow the majority of their workers to finish their tasks online, which is more comfortable and economical for employers and their colleagues.

In conclusion, although contact with each other in person offers a more close-knit bond, communicating with other people on the Internet is an increasingly popular and compelling alternative to face-to-face meetings in this fast-paced world due to its convenience and portability. The fact that people can chat and carry out their jobs as well as purchase products online assists in making daily activities more flexible without having to move around as frequently.