In the past most working people had only one job however nowadays more and more people have more than one job at the same time what are the reasons for this development what are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job

Traditionally, most people used to work for only one company at a time; however, today, this trend is coming to an end. Currently, a growing number of employees prefer to have several jobs at the same time to satisfy their needs and demands. There are different reasons for this tendency, which have their benefits and drawbacks, that will be covered in the essay.

It is not hard to understand the roots of people having several jobs more and more often nowadays than they used to. The first reason is the boom in information access that came with smartphones. Education became online, work could be done using only touch-screen devices, programmes could be used on the go, and so on and so forth. But not only smartphones gave us the possibility to work from everywhere, but also easy-operable machines became widely spread. Power tools, for example, are now so various and capable that anyone can handle them easily and accomplish complicated tasks. It is also becoming very easy to find a part-time job very close to people’s homes or offices. Online platforms offer a variety of currently opened tasks available to be applied for every day.

The first advantage of such a style of employment is the rise in income and effectiveness. Since it is easy to be the right person at the right time and in the right place, productivity has enormously grown, not only for employees but for employers as well. For both of them, it has become much easier to find the one who is really suitable. Social connections also help to make a better choice for those who hire and those who give their knowledge or work. People have also become much more aware of what they really like and want to do for a living.

But are there any disadvantages to such a plural approach? Sadly, the efficacy of work does not mean that it does not require more effort, knowledge, or skill. The constant need for learning became a main reason for stress. People who work in several professions one by one suffer from burnout more often. It is very hard to move forward in a profession if you do not concentrate fully on it. Concentration problems also cause issues with quality and delays.

Although it has become much more popular to have two or even three professions in very different fields of knowledge or skills, it is always something to consider in order not to get yourself into long-term stress or to become nonprofessional in any field.