In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In earlier times, traveling was done by individuals to explore different places which offer variety, and distinguished cultures. This essay agrees that they have been a surge in similarity among cities, perhaps due to an increase in modern technology causing a negative development.

To begin with, the introduction of modern technology has made our communication easier and more convenient. The significant increase in modern technology around the world has led people to follow the same trend that they find online. For instance, with the use of the TikTok application, people follow similar trends around the world.

Furthermore, a prominent development of the modern technology is the mobile phone. Mobile phones keep individuals connected and are far away from each other. It allows them to rely on information easily and quickly. However, the point being, the facilitated communication allows people to discuss trends, and cultures, and they adapt to them. Therefore, fostering similarity among the cities.

Lastly, the negative development that arises from all the aforementioned opinions is that it makes a world smaller place. The sole purpose of traveling is to explore different places, which will not be fulfilled. Subsequently, there can be a positive development in certain places like London, where they have preserved ancient buildings that demonstrate the ancient history, and ultimately allow an individual to experience or gain knowledge of history

Nevertheless, the introduction of modern technology has made the world a smaller place, it has introduced various similarities around. On the other hand, there can be a possible positive development in cities where they have preserved buildings.