In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely recognized that in the past, people used to compare the differences between cities of foreign and their home countries when they traveled abroad. However, the cities are becoming increasingly similar throughout the world these days. This essay attempts to shed light on the main reasons of this issue before concluding that the advantages of this development are more significant than the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why this is the case, one of which is international and regulations. To explicate, countries can adopt similar infrastructures and practices to meet the shared international guidelines for urban planning, like environmental sustainability. In addition, the convergence of diverse cultures might contribute to identical city structures. In other words, the movement through borders brings different cultures together, in turn, leading to the blending of cultural elements, which can contribute to the overall similarity of city structures worldwide.

Nonetheless, I fiercely believe that the benefits brought by this development surpass its drawbacks. Firstly, the similarities between cities can help multiple cultures to adapt, and integrate easier. For example, when people from diverse backgrounds encounter common urban experiences, they can get along easier than the ones in unfamiliar cities. Secondly, similar cities can foster business operations. This is because operating in common infrastructures and urban experiences can reduce the challenges associated with adapting to unfamiliar local environments, which in turn makes it easier for businesses to operate and advance.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why this is the case and, in my view, this

development is more positive than negative.