In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In earlier times, people used to travel to different nations to look for things that they did not have in their country. But in recent days, cities all over the world are more similar. Personally, I believe that there are several reasons for these changes and although these changes may have a drawback, I think the advantages it brings are more than harmful.

There are two primary reasons why cities around the world are becoming more alike. Firstly, there is a significant exchange of new developments between countries. When travelers visit foreign nations, especially developed ones, they bring back new ideas and technologies that contribute to their own country’s progress. This exchange of innovations leads to the exchanges of lifestyles and architectures across the nations. The growing number of people who travel abroad and do not come back to their nation can be considered a second reason. These people create their community in other nations, making a cultural exchange between nations. For example, there are many Chinatowns built around the world by groups of Chinese immigrants, bringing traditional cultural features of Chinese architecture and lifestyle to those countries.

On the one hand, these changes may have a negative impact on traditional cultural values and cultural specificities due to the interactions with various cultures in the long term. However, organizing more cultural events is a good way to preserve and promote ethnicity by educating the public, especially with the young generations, about their tradition and culture.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is the increasing cultural diversity. Exchanging culture allowed people to have more chances to experience other cultures such as cuisine and customs in their countries, which enriched national culture diversity thanks to people from other countries coming and bringing their own tradition. In Vietnam, for example, people can easily eat real Japanese or Korean food without traveling to these countries. Another reason is that there are more job opportunities. In the globalization era, multinational corporations invest in many countries to bring their culture and job opportunities to local people. As a result, these job opportunities can help the national government reduce pressure on people’s unemployment.

In conclusion, the similarity of many countries these days is a result of exchanging new development and the formation of communities in other countries. While the disadvantages it brings to the nation, I strongly believe that the advantages from development changes are more significant than disadvantages.