It has become easier and more affordable for people to travel to other countries. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, cross-border travelling has become much more prevalent given its affordability and the growing availability of transportation. From my perspective, I consider this development positive thanks to its ability to promote international tourism and boost personal growth, which I will shed light on in the course of this essay.

International travelling would undeniably stimulate a nation’s economic growth. This is owing to the fact that tourism-related services require a large pool of human resources working in accomodation establishments and entertainment spots, which provide the locals with a key source of income and employment. Thus, the governments could make the most of those profits to implement in other essential infrastructures as well as public services catering to residents’ needs such as education, hospitality and medical industry in order to improve the country’s living standard. Take Ha Long for example, which has gained the reputation as one of the most popular destinations in Viet Nam with a plethora of recreational activities available for visitors. Undoubtedly, thanks to the local tourism industry, this city has gained millions of dollars in revenue, rapidly grown into a big city with an array of advanced facilities compared to its image as an underdeveloped town in the past. Therefore, the prosperity of tourism industry would irrefutably build a community’s brand value and raise the overall quality of life through its contribution to the national economy.

It is common knowledge that exploring new destinations would broaden visitors’ horizon and unleash their potentials. The main reason here is that once getting exposed to a new culture with its own natural identity, people would develop several essential skills so as to get used to a new environment. For example, living in a new country in a short term requires basic communication skills with strangers in English or in that nation’s mother-tongue. This would urge people in learning a new language as well as enhance their problem-solving skill, allowing vacationers to realize their potential strengths. Therefore, travelling to foreign countries is not only considered a way to unwind people after long days of work but also a chance to encourage self-reflexion and deepen our knowledge.

In conclusion, the increasing ease and affordability of international travelling has provided numerous benefits for both the community and the individuals, gradually fostering cross-cultural connections and improved quality of life.