It has become easier and more affordable for people to travel to other countries. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, it is a fact that individuals have the ability to migrate to foreign nations in a more accessible and cost-effective manner. From my personal perspective, despite some detrimental effects, I lean toward the beneficial aspects due to two main reasons: fostered cultural exchange and further career promotion.

To commence with, there are several disadvantageous factors associated with a more affordable way to travel to other countries, the most significant of which is negative environmental issues. To be more specific, the larger the number of overseas tourists a nation receives each year, the larger the amount of garbage and pollution such a country has to face. Additionally, a rising quantity of visitors to historical relics could wreak significant havoc on such destinations, as a result, the government has to shoulder the expenses in order to rejuvenate and repair them. Another focal downside aspect is the heavy toll on community-based life, in which exotic individuals provoke unpleasantness and resentment amongst local counterparts because of some recreational demands such as late-night bars or karaoke.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned negativity, I am convinced that the positivity offered by such a phenomenon is far more pronounced, chief of which is the importance of cultural exchange. The easier and more accessible manner to commute across borders is synonymous with the fact that individuals might absorb several developing and beneficial routines and traditions. Take some special crazes Vietnamese acquire from Western nations such as Mother’s Day or Father’s Day as prime examples; people are able to show off their respect in a mainstream way, thus bonding their relationships and also acting as a motivation for both of them. In addition, settling down in overseas nations acts as a breeding ground for further career promotion. That is because the easier access to foreign nations, especially first-world countries, facilitates individuals to enroll in top universities all around the world, such as Stanford or Oxford, which could provide them with elite knowledge and a stable career.

In conclusion, the development that traveling abroad becomes cost-effective leads to certain detrimental aspects such as environmental issues and downgraded facilities; however, it brings a mass positive aspects to human in terms of workforce and exchanging of culture. Given the essay, people should raise their awareness in order to protect other countries’ tourist attractions as well as maintain their security.