It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a growing debate whether it is ideal for individuals to pursue their career further in their elderly era of their life if they are capable. Although it is greatly beneficial for youngsters to learn from their elder’s experience, in my opinion it has more pros to retire and not continue to work in old age.

To begin with, the new generation in every society requires an opportunity to be involved in real life difficulties in order to strengthen their problem-solving skills. While the individuals with more experience are not retired and still working, it is less likely for new comers to be accepted in hiring positions. For example, companies prefer workers with maximum knowledge and capability. When individuals intend to continue working in their elderly, companies will also continue to keep them in their team and not hiring new clerks. In total, not only working in old age will contribute to increase the age rate in a company, it would also affect the young generation of that society.

Furthermore, with today’s rapidly evolving world, going toe to toe with technology is mandatory. Individuals in old age mostly prefer old methods and it is complicated for them to cope with new approaches. While new methods and software are growing daily, it requires vast amount of energy and commitment to be educated daily which in old age is hard to obtain. For example, in pandemic when the Instagram became a working platform, it was significantly complicated for old fashion businesses to adapt to the new version of communication. At last, it is more beneficial for individual to retire and enjoy their leisure time rather than continue working.

In conclusion, it is more advantageous for people in old age to give their places to the new generation to pursue the goals with new approaches and provide them with their experience rather than continue working.