It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether we should hold parents legally responsible for their children’s actions has long been confentious debate. While I acknowledge other factors influencing heavily, I completely support this idea as parents provide the first education and the ultimate life coach role.

On one hand, one compelling reason for parental accountability is that parents are the first educators in their youngsters’ lives. From birth until they start school, they acquire basic skills and moral principles from their parents. If parents fail to teach their young children the crucial life lessons, they may lack essential moral guidance. As a result it can lead them to commit crimes in the future. For instance, according to the USA crime statistics, 60% of young people who grew up without a father figure in the household were involved in serious crimes, highlighting the undeniable Tole of fathers in children’s lives.

Additionally, young people perceive their parents as the fundamental moral basis. When parents act in an ethically incorrect way, they form the false perception that they can act in the same way. In addition to that, youngsters spend much time with their parents. This close interaction shapes their values and daily behaviour.

Nevertheless, some opponents argue that other influences such as teachers, peers, and society play an equally important role in the development of children’ behaviour, In schools, young people not only acquire many crucial skills, but also receive ethical education. Moreover, classmates and individuals around them can affect their idea of right and wrong.

In conclusion, although teachers, friends, and society have a significant impact on children’s actions, I firmly believe that it is the ultimate responsibility of parents to grow their youngsters with essential life skills as well as moral tools.