It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last decade, the way that our population believes that parents could be punished for their children’s offence, due to the fact that they are liable for their actions. I strongly disagree with this point of view and I will express my opinion in the following paragraphs.

First of all,children would be responsible for their vandalism and they would have to take their own punishment.That is to say, every person is responsible for their actions. Even well-educated or overkind parents can not control their children.Especially, around teenage years, children’s behavior changes significantly. It also may lead to repercussions and reckless decisions.Apart from this,punishing their parents can emerge family stress,aggression and a restless atmosphere and can damage child-perent relationships. They can commit crimes when their economic status is poor,mental health issues or lack of education. However, It does not address the real causes of crime.

On the other hand, parents must take responsibility for their children’s actions until they are 18 years old. Firstly,If a child commits a crime due to clear parental neglect, parents should face consequences. As a result, they should be guilty, as they are not paying enough attention and they give them freedom.Result in, they do what they desire. Furthermore, poor parenting such as neglect, lack of supervision, violence at home can also lead to criminal behavior. To this point of view, everything has a norm and parents should be aware of that.

To conclude, there are several parental norms of taking responsibility for children’s actions. And then while parents should not be punished for every crime committed by their children, they should bear responsibility in cases of clear neglect or misconduct. As I said earlier, they have to accept the consequences.

I consider peers to be responsible for their own vandalism and accept punishment.