It is better to be unemployed than to be employed in a job one does not enjoy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals believe that people who are unemployed are better than those who are employed but they cannot experience job satisfaction. From my perspective, I partly agree with this viewpoint due to several reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, employed workers who cannot find any interest in their jobs are often restricted to some aspects of life. In fact, many people are employed because they have a perfect curriculum vitae, which is the result of parental involvement. At an early age, many parents control their children’s future career by forcing them to follow their guidance. For example, children who are forced to be a doctor by their parents are often supervised strictly even though they have a burning passion for singing. Therefore, career choices which are interfered by parents may not develop people’s personal fulfillment. Furthermore, poor business performance is also associated with this problem. Once people do not feel satisfied with their jobs, stress and depression are more likely to occur. As a result, productivity and efficiency can be seriously affected, meaning that people can be dismissed immediately by their managers.

On the other hand, just because employed workers are affected because of job dissatisfaction does not mean that unemployed people can be better. Looking from a broader view, people who do not have a job tend to suffer from financial insecurity. In fact, unemployment can cause financial difficulties because people are unable to find another source of income to cover their daily expenses such as medical treatment or food. For example, chronic diseases such as lung cancer or high blood pressure often require expensive treatment fees. Therefore, unemployed people have no choice, and their diseases may become worse over time. Besides, lacking financial security can push people to make the final decision – borrowing money. However, if they cannot pay back their debts, they will face many challenges such as higher interest rates and threats from creditors. Therefore, people tend to suffer from mental degradation such as psychological distress and sleep deprivation.

In conclusion, while people losing job satisfaction can face pressures from their parents and feel psychological stressed, unemployment also leads to greater sense of financial security and the fear of repaying debts as well as high interest rates.