: It is common these days to see celebrities advertising different products. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is popular to see celebrities advertising various products. While this may trigger impulsive purchases in financially inexperienced people, celebrity endorsements can build a faith in customers and business growth for employers. In my opinion, the advantages are far more significant than the disadvantages.

On the one hand, celebrity endorsements can lead to unnecessary purchases in youngsters and in financially uneducated people. This is mainly because young generations are prone to be obsessed by their role models, which is why seeing advertised products can urge them to buy them instantly. As a result, they may not evaluate the necessity and value of the product, so their actions can lead to poor financial decisions. For instance, a 16 year old boy wanted to buy a game console after seeing the advertisement with his favourite football player, while he did not have a huge need for it. Hence, viewers can have a strong emotional attachment for their role models that can make them vulnerable for particular advertisements.

On the other hand, having celebrities promoting products can be both beneficial for the volume of sales and in engendering the faith of customers. Most of the celebrities would avoid representing badly-manufactured products because of the risk of losing their reputation as they automatically become the face of the brand. As a result, clients may not have a confusion or distrust in purchasing the items as they will be of a decent quality. In addition, celebrity endorsements can be advantageous in boosting brand awareness. Inevitably, massive purchases may start happening, which will be increasing the overall budget of the company. In the long run, companies may enhance the general quality of the products and make them even more affordable.

In conclusion, although seeing famous figures advertising products can cause making blunt purchases, celebrity endorsements can overall be quintessential in the businesses’ prosperity and can help in gaining customer’s trust for the goods. That is why, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.