It is no longer important to learn languages because technology can help us communicate with foreigners. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that, widespread useof the technology reduced the need for learning second language. For three main reasons, I strongly disagree with this statement.

First and foremost, language is not only means of communication, but it also has a great impact on broadening our knowledge. Multilingual people’s comprehension is clearer than monolingual people. The reason for this is that, we live in society when communication happens. It means that being fluent in several languages gives us an opportunity to engage different societies. It broadens our horizons by developing critical and comparative thinking.

Furthermore, technology is not without errors. Despite complicated processors, technology can not imitate human brain functions. In other words, technology, even AI is not able to show emotions and fully understand relationships between sentences. They can also make mistakes due to following instructions we gave.

Last but not least, using technology requires certain conditions such as electricity, an internet connection or money. If the gadget is not charged, using it is impossible. We have to wait until devices turn on. Internet access is not available in everywhere. In this case technologies also do not work even when they are powered on. Under these circumstances, we have to rely on our own language skills, not on technologies.

In conclusion, based on the arguments mentioned above, I completely disagree with the notion that technology can eliminate the need for learning new languages.