It is often claimed that electronic devices will soon replace paper books. Do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, electronic gadgets have gained popularity for their paperless technology and will replace books with paper soon. This essay will discuss this issue.

Online books or e-books are books in electronic form that can be read on a computer or handheld device rather than in print. Most people these days prefer e-books instead of traditional books because it allows readers to read many books anywhere without bringing physical books around. Readers also do not need to go to the library and borrow books because e-books are available to download online for free and offer many options of genres. This can persuade more people to read books because of its ease and availability of options.

E-book is also an action to save global warming. Because by using ebooks, it can reduce usage of papers which come from the trees. Based on research in 2019, about 35% of trees in the world were cut down for paper production. Due to the pandemic situation, since some learning processes were conducted online and usage of online books were increasing, the amount of trees for paper production in 2021 had decreased to 28%.

However, some people still prefer paper books over e-books. Traditional books offer a nice experience to the readers while reading and it can not be replaced by digital books. For example, some people enjoy the experience of turning pages, the smell of the papers and inks.

To conclude, despite paper books that offer experiences which are not replaceable with digital books, e-book provides more benefit to the readers from its convenience, price, and the amount of options of genres, until the impact to the environment. Therefore, i agree that digital books will replace traditional paper books in the future.