It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

every country they visit. In my opinion, not everyone has time to learn other countries’ customs either they cannot learn them without having basic knowledge of the countries’ language.

Firstly, most people are likely to travel among countries throught the year, which means the travel itself takes a considerable amount of time. They have to neither adapt nor accept the culture of the country. For example, a person who travels among Japan and West countries like Germany, does not have adapt the countries’ culture since these two countries have completely different circumstances and traditions. Additionally, it would be quite hard to study all customs as every country has it own. The people in countries are divided by their heritage. For instance, a tourist who tries to catch up with these things most probably will fail since countries like the USA have completely different enviroment than others which is hard to adapt.

Secondly, the countries’ cultures generally include some major points from the language itself, thereby, without learning at least basic information about the language, it is impossible to get to know the culture. For instance, there are some words in Turkish which are assosiated with the tradition of Turkey. ‘Bayram’ is a word in turkish which means a holiday event such as Kurban Bayrami. Moreover, in order to learn habits of a country, you need to get know natives. They will provide better information about local events and practices. You cannot have conversation with them since they probably do not know your native language.

In conclusion, even though people in countries want tourists to study the customs, it is impossible to catch up with all of them, which is highly time consuming.