It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

Some people assume that when one visits a place, one should follow the customs of its people. In my opinion, it can be beneficial to adapt to the traditions of the country to which you travel. However, learning its language is not that crucial to understanding a culture.

Although beliefs and lifestyles may vary, engaging in a particular culture would not only aid in learning that culture profoundly, but also foster mutual respect. When people follow the traditions of a certain lifestyle, they can see the country, its citizens, and cultural places from a different perspective, and that would provide them with a deeper understanding of culture and a memorable experience. For instance, tourists can gain more insight and fun by attending various festivals or wearing cultural attires. In addition, by admiring their cultural heritage, people can demonstrate to native individuals great appreciation. To give an example, visitors who show respect for differing cultural values are wholeheartedly welcomed by the natives, which allows them to represent their own cultural beliefs, as well.

Nevertheless, while understanding some words and phrases that are unique to a language can be enlightening, I do not think that learning it is mandatory to comprehend the culture, and this can be tackled with advanced technologies, such as translating applications. Firstly, mastering a language is not simple and can be overwhelming before a visit. To be specific, planning a trip is quite challenging, and most of the time visits do not last more than a week, which means studying a language can put unnecessary pressure on oneself. Secondly, culture does not consist only of language, there are numerous activities in which visitors can involve in order to perceive its traditions, such as exhibitions, gatherings, and talks with natives.

In conclusion, I admit that integrating into a culture can be advantageous by means of entertainment and knowledge. Nonetheless, I believe that there are other more useful ways than learning a language to grasp cultural values.