Nowadays, sport is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and in other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports?

In this contemporary century, sports have become a huge business with adequate earnings for professional sportsmen and companies involved in numerous ways, mainly financially. Some people believe that this phenomenon is a positive development because individuals can fully engage in sport and also have income, while others argue that professional sports should not become a business.

Firstly, it has various advantages of earning money from sports events. People will be able to professionally engage in sport without worrying about their work. To be specific, many young people, from childhood, played sports, and their job became winning opponents; that is why it is beneficial for them to have sufficient income after winning professional tournaments. For instance, many organizations invite Olympic champions to their tournaments and offer financial awards if they defeat non-professional athletes.

Despite advantages, there are also considerable drawbacks that should be accounted. Trainers believe that professional athletes should not be engaged in other non-official tournaments during their careers to be fully concentrated on official tournaments, such as the Olympic Games or the European Games. Another negative effect of this action is that professional athletes could get injured during those matches, which is a big issue for athletes. Specifically, they should pass treatments or take an aiding week, which will hold an athlete back from their training.

From my notion, professional athletes should take part in the various tournaments to earn money, because their job is that sport, so they cannot train and have an extra job, which is why they should secure their families by earning money from those kinds of tournaments.

To conclude, the modern fact that sports have become a business has both advantages and disadvantages, because they from one hand has well-provided life; however, some issues could negatively influence on professinals career.