It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

In today’s society, it is an irrefutable fact that juvenile crime is increasing. Personally, I reckon that violence in the media results in increased crime levels among juveniles. This essay will provide several reasons and solutions to this issue.

First, children retain most of the content they see routinely. To clarify this point, the brain activity of juveniles is stronger in terms of retaining observations for a long time, signifying that exposure to criminal content results in long-term memories associated with dangerous acts. For instance, an average adult can only remember half of what they see on a daily basis, whereas people between the ages of 10 and 18 maintain most of their routine visual experiences. In addition, aggressive content that is usually trending on social media may stimulate juveniles to do the same, creating an assumption that they are doing the right thing based on views.

Some possible solutions to these problems are reduced social media consumption and increased participation in social activities. Less exposure to social media can have enormous positive impacts on children, leading to better social engagement and attitudes toward others. It is evident that the overuse of social media can have severe negative outcomes for children, including social difficulties. By limiting a child’s social media use, juveniles can avoid integration problems and improve their mental well-being, ultimately reducing crime levels. Additionally, engaging in social activities can be another effective solution. By participating in sociable events, children develop a sense of belonging to their group, leading to more harmonious behavior. For example, when I was a child, I used to be brutal toward others. However, my parents introduced me to my current friends, which helped me develop more self-control.

In conclusion, violent content in the media is a major driver of juvenile crime. However, encouraging more group engagement and reducing social media consumption can help mitigate this problem.