Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many argue that moving to a country where a different language is used causes serious social and practical problems. I completely agree with this notion, as a lack of proficiency in that language leads to significant communication issues, such as forming friendships and socializing with others. In addition, such individuals might face practical problems in their work environment as well, such as misunderstanding instructions.

Lacking sufficient proficiency in a language that a person has to use in a foreign nation can bring about serious emotional issues. Not only might such a person have problems conveying their intentions, but others might not understand their intentions either. If a person cannot communicate with their neighbors and colleagues, this individual may not make friends, potentially causing isolation and depression. For instance, a student who moves abroad to study may face a myriad of social problems. What makes socialization for this student challenging is that they might not know the exact meaning of common expressions. As a result, finding friends is an arduous task if the person cannot communicate very well. If this person cannot socialize enough, it can cause depression and anxiety in the long term.

Furthermore, the person who cannot speak fluently may face serious issues in various in-person situations, such as buying something from a store or working in a company. In the workplace, this individual might misunderstand their manager’s instructions or cause offense by using inappropriate words. To illustrate, consider an employee who has emigrated from Asia to Europe. Although this person tries to communicate as well as possible, there may still be situations in which they face challenges, such as speaking to a customer inappropriately and causing a problem.

To conclude, I firmly believe that communicating in a foreign society where an individual cannot use their first language leads to a wide range of difficulties, from finding friends to conveying their intentions to a colleague. This is mainly because an immigrant might not know the meaning of many expressions in the language.