Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this ? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, a lot of adults are playing video games in their spare time. This essay will outline a possible reason for this trend and assess if that is a good or bad development. In my opinion, adults should better spend their leisure time reading books or meeting friends as I believe that playing digital games does not come with huge benefits.

Nowadays, more and more adults are playing video games because they provide a platform to connect and pursue a common virtual goal. Firstly, the digital games offer a place to communicate with different people and a chance to make new friends. Secondly, a lot of games require teamwork between the players to reach a mutual virtual goal, that is often rewarded with a certain bonus or special item. This common experience can be quite fun and satisfying for the players. For instance, one game that is offering such a virtual world to players, is the game called “World of Warcraft”. In World of Warcraft, players from different parts of the world are playing together to reach multiple goals which are incentivized with various special items and bonuses.

Beside the benefits of playing computer games, one have to keep in mind that they also come with disadvantages. Video games can consume a lot of time as virtual worlds are endless in their things to discover, their quests to achieve and their items to receive. Furthermore, the advantages of playing a game do not outweigh the perks of reading a book or meeting with friends in real life. I believe that invested time in those activities is far more rewarding than playing a game. For example, if I have the choice to go swimming with a friend or to play an online game with him, I would always decide against playing the virtual game.

In conclusion, although playing video games can lead to a satisfying experience and to making new friends, I believe that it comes with many drawbacks like a huge time invest and maybe a lack of social interaction in real life.