Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this ? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is indeed becoming increasingly common for individuals to spend their pastime by playing computer games. This is due to a number of factors, but I believe that this trend should be viewed negatively for various reasons.

There are various reasons why the older generation has more priorities to play computer games. First and foremost, playing such games serves as an escapism from boredom. Many games require players to make quick decisions and to think critically, minimizing the rate of stress and boredom. In addition, computer games can foster social skills among adults. Engaging in online gaming can help to develop social skills, including teamwork and networking, which results in effective communication.

However, I would argue that spending time by mobile games among individuals should be seen as a negative development. First of all, excessive computer usage often leads to mental issues. Prolonged screen-based games, for example, can contribute to an increased level of depression and anxiety since adults fail in online games. Second, albeit, addiction to digital gaming can trigger any serious health problems, including obesity and eye strain.

In conclusion, while I accept that video games can be beneficial in some ways, especially in terms of enhancing skills and escaping from boredom, I believe that it is more likely to have a detrimental impact in overall health.