Many cities around the world are facing serious problems with air pollution. What are the main causes of this problem, and what measures could be taken to reduce it?

In many cities all over the world, traffic congestion and air pollution have become critical problems. This essay will examine the main causes and possible solutions of this issue.

One major cause is that many cities have expanded faster than their transport systems. Many headquarters of big companies are located in big cities, and not every worker can afford accomodation near their workplace or live in big cities. For example, the price of renting in big cities could make up a half of the avarage salary. The most convenient option for them is to commute by a private car because public transport in rural areas is not always reliable. This, in turn, causes traffic congestion during peak hours and produces a huge amount of carbon emissions.

To tackle this problem, the authorities could allocate funds to improve public transport system and imply additional fees in busy areas. The government could invest in infrastructures, cycling lanes and subsidise fees. These measures might show citizens that they can rely on public transport. Then, congestion charges in busy areas could reduce congestion. Therefore, the level of carbon emissions in the air can be reduced.

In conclusion, low-quality public transport system is the major problem that causes traffic congestion and air pollution. To address this issue, governments could enhance the system and add extra charge.