Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweight the disadantages?

As a country’s economy plays a crucial role in its future, many nations try to improve the living standards of their citizens by economic growth, while essential social values are lost. The downsides of focusing on industrial expansion can include the loss of work-life balance as well as environmental degradation, but these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits, such as advancements in healthcare and education and reduced unemployment rate.

One disadvantage of economic growth is the loss of balance between life and work. Since a sustainable economy requires a highly productive workforce, which leads to longer working hours, employees might not allocate sufficient time for their children and their daily activities. For example, many developing countries mostly rely on business companies, so workers are not eligible to leave their workplace, resulting in the loss of leisure time that could be spent on their needs and daily activities. Also, environmental deterioration should not be neglected. Many industries require resources and energy, often leading to deforestation as well as pollution of air and green areas including rivers or even lakes. These days most of the contamination not only in urban but also in rural regions, are attributed to the emissions coming from factories.

However, the advantages of economic growth are far greater. One of the major benefits is that a resilient economy provides high-quality education and robust healthcare systems. As young people highly contribute to a nation’s future success, academic and practical knowledge are essential for the developing generation. Therefore, an improved curriculum in institutions among youngsters,makes a more skilled workforce. Reduced levels of unemployment can be another reason. When the economy grows, new industries are created, subsequently reducing unemployment rates and providing stable livelihoods for the youth.

In conclusion, industrial expansion can have a detrimental effect on the environment and may lead to a lack of leisure time. However, I believe these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits such as a more healthy, educated and employed society.