Many countries are investing heavily in space exploration programs. Do the advantages of these programs justify the considerable expense, or are there more pressing priorities on Earth?

Nowadays, the majority of countries spend most of their budget on the development of space observation technology rather than attempting to find solutions to environmental issues. As far as I am concerned, it brings more drawbacks instead of benefits.

On the one hand, space exploration has global plans, which may completely change humanity. The major contributing factor is searching for a potential home for humanity. In recent years, the debate over global issues has been increasingly discussed. Environmental concerns such as global warming and climate change may severely damage our planet. The climate has considerably changed, and it extremely influences species’ adaptation. As an example, some species have already died or are currently endangered. Therefore, scientists and astrophysicists are highly concerned and urge to search planets for possible relocation.

On the other hand, investing in space investigation might be a waste of time and money. Even though space exploration may bring several merits, such as identifying a potential future home for humanity, people are able to amend these problems. From my perspective, it would be the best solution if governments put their budget mainly on improving world circumstances, because insufficient investment might be the prime obstacle to changing Earth’s position. If governors had prioritized resolving increasing air contamination, global warming, and climate change, there would not have been a need to seek a new home.

To conclude, investing in the development of space exploration has both advantages and disadvantages. However, I mostly believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because, despite increasing the number of space discoveries, the global issues that highly affect humanity remain unresolved.