many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world . is it a positive or negative development?

It is argued that a considerable amount of imported food is prioritized intensively in some nations. From my perspective, I believe this trend carries potential disadvantages.

First and foremost, the heavy reliance on food from external countries threatens domestic agriculture. When consumers depend excessively on international food, the need for the agricultural industry in the internal country is capable of decreasing substantially. This leads many farmers to have difficulty with product consumption, declining profits, and even to withdraw from manufacturing. For example, if almost all supermarkets sell imported fruit, many local farmers and orchards struggle to compete and easily incur losses. As a result, this trend not only decreases economic self-sufficiency but also makes numerous nations largely dependent on food imports from other parts of the world. On the other hand, importing food from all over the world enables customers to have an opportunity to access more great products at competitive prices. However, this merger benefit should be not come at the expense of agricultural declination and food security.

In addition, acquiring the enormous number of food from oversea leads to such environmental and economic risk. This because imported food requires long-haul transportation by sea or air, resulting in growing carbon dioxide reliance into environment. Besides, if it unfortunately occurs supply chain disruption or traded upheaval, food depending nations have to face food shortage and cost growth pressingly. For instance, fruits are purchased from others that often experiences the long distance, both contributing to the mass of carbon emission, and make the prices fluctuate irrationally when the transport cost enhance. Consequently, this not only promotes environmental pollution, but also generates the unstable foods.

In conclusion, while international trade supports countries to supplement food self-production, over basing on imported food still pose immense risk. Overall, I believe that every country should develops their own independent manufacturing and just import when no have other choices.