many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world . is it a positive or negative development?

Importing food has become a common practice in many countries. I believe this is a desirable change.

This trend, however, entails several drawbacks, with the environment taking the hardest hit. Importing relies on transportation, and the most preferred means is airplanes. As airplanes burn fossil fuels, emitting huge amounts of carbon dioxide into the air, this can exacerbate air pollution and contribute to climate change. The effect of importing on local food producers should not be neglected as well. Usually, local producers do not have the means to compete with large international companies, and this can put local farmers out of a job. This would mean that the country will import more food, and so this can create a loop of people continuously running out of business.

Despite this, I tend to view this development positively. One positive effect is that international trade can stimulate economic growth. Although importing food can lead to job displacements for local food producers, it generates jobs in other sectors, such as transportation, logistics, distribution, and retail. On a more personal level, consumers can enjoy the year-round availability of food items. Many countries, due to their geographical location, do not always have access to local produce, such as fruit and vegetables. They, however, can purchase imported foods regardless of the season.

In conclusion, importing food can pose some threats to the environment and local farmers. Yet I believe it is a change for the better, as it often leads to economic growth and allows people to enjoy food items all year round.