many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world . is it a positive or negative development?

It is a common situation when countries buy and bring a lot of food from other states. Although there are numerous benefits of importing such goods, I tend to believe that there are more of negative sides.

To start with, when an internal market is flooded with foreign food, it is extremely complicated for local manufacturers and farmers to compete with those products. Imported goods usually have lower prices since they are produced by large factories which cut down on costs marginally. For instance, it requires a lot of resources for local baker to cook a limited number of hand-made pies from high-quality ingredients. In the meantime, some supermarkets can reduce costs and purchase a big number of factory-made pies from another country which will cost several times less, consequently refusing to buy from inner contractor. This example shows that many local businesses are at high risk to go bankrupt because of large import of food.

In contrast, buying a large amount of food from other countries lets keep very affordable prices for products for customers. As it was already mentioned above, goods from huge international manufacturies mostly have very low prices in comparison with something produced locally, which makes goods possible to purchase for every sitizen dependless on the income. Moreover, food is essential for human survival, that is why it must not be expensive. Even though these foreign products are more likely to be low-quality, the majority of people firstly think about the price and then about the ingredients. This reason makes importing large amounts of such goods by some countries a positive development.

In conclusion, even though purchasing a tremendous amount of food from other parts of the world might seem reasonable, the negative sides still outweight some short-term benefits.