Many countries today are experiencing problems associated with noise pollution (excessive noise above normal background noise.) What are the causes of this phenomenon, and what effects does it have on the people affected?

In today’s world, concerns about noise pollution are growing on a global scale. Due to technological advancement around the world, people continue to become affected by disturbance by noise. This essay will discuss the factors that are causing this global phenomenon and how it affects individuals’ everyday lives.

To begin with, it is undoubtedly arguable that there has been a significant increase in population and vehicles in urban areas. Since larger cities offer broader opportunities, individuals migrate from rural areas to cities to look for jobs. Since world renowned firms are concentrated in big cities, young people aspire to migrate out of the suburbs to work for high paying jobs. For instance, more than half of population in South Korea live in its capital city, Seoul. This leads to a hike in population density and traffic rate. It is evident that this phenomenon is occurring on a global scale as big cities like New York, Los Angeles, Seoul and London are experiencing increases in vehicle and foot traffic. Furthermore, as a large portion of the nation’s population is concentrated in one single city, noise pollution is unavoidable.

Moreover, people are negatively affected by noise pollution day and night. Types of noise pollution may vary from honking sounds to people shouting. This leads to loss of sleep and eventually leads to increases in stress levels within individuals. To add on, students can suffer from being unable to concentrate on their studies. Noise pollution mainly affects learners being unable to focus and individuals trying to get peace at night.

Overall, as more people desire to migrate to bigger cities to look for advantageous opportunities, noise pollution in those cities is imminent. Although the cities may benefit from economic advantages, this negatively affects individual’s everyday lives.