Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

It is an unfortunate truth that many criminals persist in a life of crime after being in jail. This is largely due to an unwillingness of society to accept ex-convicts, which harms the economy and causes an increase in crime victims.

Owing to a lack of job opportunities once out of prison, most former prisoners feel insecure in their future. Many finish with a prison record which puts off recruitment managers at major corporations who often feel ex-offenders are untrustworthy. As a result, in the United States, almost three quarters of all ex-inmates turn to crime within five years of leaving prison. Additionally, society is frequently reluctant to welcome back ex-prisoners. Former criminals report difficulty finding apartments to rent or even applying for financial aid to fund their education. This causes many to feel that a criminal life is their only option.

Reoffending hurts both the economy and those victims of crime. When former criminals reoffend, more tax dollars must be spent on re-incarceration, legal fees and maintaining prisoners in jail. As re-offenses continue, budgets for other government programs such as education or social services must be cut to make up for increased expenses. Reoffending also results in more crime victims, many of whom face a lifetime of torment from the trauma created by crime. The more victims there are, the more pressure that citizens put on governments to maintain a safe society which causes more police and overcrowding in prisons which studies show only makes the issue worse.

In conclusion, an uncertain future and hostile society results in more crime, more victims and more expense to the tax payer. Only through changing attitudes will criminals ever be given the chance to have a future and avoid turning back to crime.