Many criminals re-offended after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Some offenders committed crime again after being penalized. There are several causes including financial, social and psychological factors. The possible solution to address this problem is to provide rehabilitation and social acceptance to the criminals.

One of the main reasons for offenders re-committing the crime is lack of rehabilitation centres for criminals. After being released from prison, criminals face a lot of problems in their social life. People avoid interaction with offenders because they are scared and unhappy with them. They end up being isolated from society. They face unemployment issues as the companies avoid hiring a person with criminal records. Thus, they get no support from the society and no one to talk to. As a result, they walk on the same path as before and commit crimes again. For instance, in Florida, many offenders commit crimes after being bailed out or being released from the prison because they face unacceptance in society.

The viable solution to overcome these problems is to build more rehabilitation centres for criminals. After being released they should attend therapy sessions in which they can talk about their problems and seek help from professionals to overcome them. The government should focus more on rehabilitation than severe punishment and to educate the inmates with proactive skills to make them financially acceptable. Furthermore, offering rehab for addiction may help them overcome personal challenges that contribute to criminal behavior. For example, a survey of ex-offenders showed that they changed a lot after taking therapy from rehab centres because it helped them overcome their psychological and social problems.

In conclusion, the reasons for criminals relapsing their crime is associated with their mental and social problems. These problems can be eradicated with government focusing on rehabilitation of criminals instead of punishment and to make policies which makes them socially acceptable.