Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

These days, a wide range of poorer nations are focusing their effort on developing their travelling service. There are some reasons for this reasons, and I believe this can be a positive development, despite numerous drawbacks that can arise.

Personally, I believe the primary reason to for developing tourism in a country is due to the economic benefits it brings. A well-developed tourism industry create a lot of new businesses nad jobs for local people, and the influx money from foreign tourists. In addition to this, promoting international tourism can help to improve internatinal relations with other countries, and to share a country’s customs and culture with people around the world. Many people these days are interested in learning about different cultures and ways of living, and tourism helps to faciliate this experience.

However, there are numerous of drawbacks that arise from the expansion of a country’s tourism industry. For example, in many countries in South East Asia, tourism has been a major cause of environment pollution and desctruction. Another example is that most tourists generally drink bottled water on holidays which results in creating mountains of plastic waste. Many developing countries do not process recycling facilities for [process for doing sth] dealing with the waste, and therefore, it commonly ends up throughout the countryside, rivers, seas, beaches, oceans. Futhermore, the invasion of tourist into certain place can disrupt the local wildlife and ecosystem, causing further environment damage.

In conclusion, I would have to say that expanding the tourism industry in a country is a positive development if it is properly managed, and the environmental and cultural impacts are closely monitored and minimised.