Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

These days plenty of countries are enlarging their tourist industries.

It is possible that there are lots of reasons why this is the case. First, many developing countries have plenty of tourism potential that is yet to be exploited, including areas of natural beauty, clean beaches and national parks with high biodiversity. By way of illustration, Vingroup, which is one of the biggest conglomerates in Vietnam, regards tourism as its primary source of profit. Furthermore, tourism promotes mutual cultural understanding. The tourists themselves learn about that country’s culture as well as interact with tourists from other countries.

However, this unchecked growth in international tourism may lead to some adverse effects. First, although tourism can boost a nation’s economy, a majority of locals do not benefit from it. It is usually the big companies and hotels who earn the most, not the underprivileged, who can only make a modest profit from selling souvenir and small gifts. Moreover, tourism can also be detrimental to the environment.

In conclusion, an increasing number of countries are investing in tourism because of its financial benefits, but I think this trend may cause adverse effects on the environment.