Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In the contemporary world, travelling is deemed to be one of the most successful businesses and industries that all the governments and companies aim to pursue. Therefore, it is pivotal to notice that the norm for developing countries these days is to focus and develop the tourist industries by any means necessary, including its expansion and influence. The essay will delve deeper to explain why this is a trend for many nations and answer the pondering question of whether or not it is wise to follow this path.

The developing the tourism industry in one country could yield tremendous results. First of all, one cannot deny the fact that increasing the range and number of tourist attractions can foster economic growth. Beside this, it is also evidenced that the benefit can also come in the form of cultural promotion. The more expensive and costly the trips are to the travelers, the more profits the governments and its people will receive. This is notable in the case of Hawaii, where it is remote from mainland and its cultural significance to the people of the United States are undeniably important. Not only the powerful nation has reaped enormous revenue from tourism in Hawaii, but the remote island is also famous around the world for highly expensive trips and natural experience. If other countries could in fact replicate the same scenario for one of their industries, high chances are that they could earn the success from the mentioned example.

The discussion of pursuing the path of increasing the range and effect of tourist industries earns many contemplations and, on the other hand, receives some drawback counterarguments as well. While it is crucial to notice that if the plan succeeds, it will brings back enormous returns for the country such as fame and stabilized economy, its costs merit meticulous calculations and decisions. To prepare and expand tourism, government would need to accumulate a huge budget that can use upon for this plan, not to mention planning how much time would it take to proceed with this notion. These costs alone could put the entire nation at grave if not careful, and they are a burden to the country if not properly addressed. In the long run, they will act as a lever which pull the nation economy down, thus rendering the state of the whole country unstable. Therefore, it is high advised that pursuing these path can a be huge gambles, in which the country that takes the deal, always have high chances of not succeeding.

In sum, the expansion of tourism can be notable notions for many countries as it can indeed incentive and stimulate economic growth and generate wealth. However, its drawbacks are not to be underrated and look down, as one simple mistake can lead the whole nation to its end if unproperly managed. Because the risks and the stakes are too high, it is considered unwise for nations to follow this path.