Many different countries have many shops and products as the same. Some consider it a positive development, whereas others consider it negative. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this modern world, we can’t help but witness the rapid progression of globalization that is taking over the world. Globalization could be beneficial as shops and products are set to a certain standard and help interconnect many regions together. But some might perceive it as something that brings negative effects.

One of the effects of globalization is the standardization of living quality in many regions. This is due to the same set of standards being put across the globe, which adds diverse, and better, quality of products. For instance, the fashion industry. The high fashion brands, or even the casual ones have taken over the standard of fashion. As the growth of demand for such shops increase, economic benefits arise. With the mass spread of the market, companies are benefited with a larger customer base, which leads to massive spread and production that could bring more revenue. As for the customers, they could be exposed to various countries, which creates a sense of connection with many nations. As example, the style of fashion from some countries could be of influence to others. The past trends that are all-denim wear that was influenced by the western countries, to the now casual, yet sophisticated wear that is influenced by the Korean entertainment industries.

On another hand, the effect of this globalization could be seen in the cultural aspect of a region. There is a potential of diminishing the uniqueness and diverse culture that each region possess. Taking the fashion industry as an example, different culture have their own different garments and attire. These variations are part of what makes a culture unique. Before fashion sense in the likes of suits, dresses, jeans, and more, people would wear their traditional clothing to formal meetings, or even daily. But with the standardization of clothing and fashion sense, many forsaken their traditional attire and opt for the modern clothing. Aside from clothing, the connection between different regions would require one common language to communicate. With the set standard of the international language, many took up English. In some aspect, this brings a bad impact as many prefer to be perceived as more superior and impressive by their peers for claiming to being more fluent in English than in their native language. If clothing and language are taken away from the country, culture could easily diminish, even extinct.

In conclusion, globalization does bring positive impact in bettering the life quality of a region and even standardized it. However, these would come with a negative connotation that could be a potential of culture obliteration.