Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the relentless march of technological progress, many employees can now work from home. There is a viewpoint that only employees may benefit from the advantages of this remote work, not the employers. I completely agree with this proposition based on some reasons that are elucidated in this essay.

There are some reasons that explain why remote work has beneficial impacts on workers. Compared with an in-office environment, telecommuting assists employees with a more flexible time management. This means employees can have a better work-life balance as they do not follow strict and rigorous schedules of offfice. Nowhere is this clearer than in the case of the US and Australia, where remote work is common. In these countries, parents can benefit from the flexibility to care for their young children while still fulfilling job responsibilities.

However, there are some drawbacks of virtual work when it comes to employers. The lack of face-to-face interactions between workers and managers may easily lead to decreased work productivity. As well as this, bosses cannot fully supervise the work of their employees due to the distance, consequently resulting in lower work quality. With these consequences combined, it is likely that remote work poses more challenges for employers. For example, Japanese offices, which value professional camaraderie, rarely promote virtual work because of the fear of risks associated with this change.

In conclusion, while working from home can bring benefits such as work-life balance to workers, employers may be affected more negatively due to this kind of work. I believe that a balanced approach should be hybrid working models, from which companies can reap benefits both remotely and in-office.