Many employees can now do their work from home using modern technology. However, this change may only benefit workers, not the employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is observed that people are working from home using modern technology; others, however, believe that it is only beneficial for employees, not employers. While acknowledging the reasons why some support the latter, I still agree with the former.

Of course, one might argue that without supervision from the companies, it can lower the quality of work. The key rationale behind this is that when office workers are working at home, they are potentially distracted by other tasks such as using mobile phones for another purpose, taking care of their children or even cleaning the floor and leaving aside the main job. As a result, people would not focus on their work, leading to the decrease in productivity and efficiency of work. However, I would argue that this issue could be addressed by using online applications such as Google Meet or Zoom; these apps allow employers to supervise and keep track of their employees online effectively.

Moreover, I believe that the merits for employers are much more pronounced. To begin with, this development helps businesses reduce their operating costs. This is because when staff is working remotely, employers would not spend large amounts of money on apartments or big premises, instead they would rather choose smaller ones. In this light, they can save and use that money to invest in other aspects such as branding, marketing and advertising in order to build the businesses’ reputation, allowing them to reach more potential customers in the future. Moreover, this tendency also helps employers get more talent. Businesses can hire worldwide talent regardless of geographical distance while still ensuring high-quality work and enabling teams to achieve organizational goals effectively. Therefore, companies can operate more efficiently and achieve sustainable growth.

In conclusion, working remotely is not only beneficial for employees, but also for businesses. This development helps employers to build their reputation and maintain sustainable growth in the long run.