Many large cities are facing problems related to traffic congestion. What are the main causes of traffic congestion, and what solutions can be implemented to reduce it?

Many megapolices conflict issues related to traffic jams. The main reason for traffic congestion is the increasing amount of vehicles in cities and possible solutions to raise the tax of cars and encourage people who use public transport.

The principal cause of the large number of vehicles is that prices are affordable for a lot of people and it is convenient and faster to get to some places. Many people prefer using a passenger car because it is more comfortable than using public transport or alternative transportation. Furthermore, the price of auto is available for many citizens and is not taxable and not necessary to spend money to service the car. For example, Astana encounters problems with traffic jams every day due to the cheap cars and inconvenient public transport and many citizens switch to passenger cars.

The possible solution of traffic jam is addendum and then increase the taxes of cars, it stimulates people to not purchase furthermore high prices and taxes to obtain the car could be available for high-income residents which reduces the amount of moving transport in the city. Moreover, municipal transport also influences traffic congestion, because one auto car can contain 4-7 passengers while a bus can contain 40-50 people. However, an increasing amount of auto buses does not solve the problem, it must be comfortable for trips and a good schedule. For instance, Australia had problems with traffic congestion in many cities in 2023. After the adoption of the law, taxes on vehicles exclude government’s cars . It reduced 76% percent of owners’ cars and bought a lot of modern urban transport. After this law many people prefer to use the alternative methods of moving in previous years.

Overall, the main cause is an increasing number of demand for cars and also population. However, making wide roads and expansions will not help. Instead of this, governments should decrease the demand for vehicles and make public transport more convenient.