Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Many museums and historical sites are a great tourist attraction, but it is different when it comes to local tourists. In my opinion, there are some specific measures that can be taken by the ministry to increase locals’ interest in these places.

Firstly, a fundamental reason is the different motivations between tourists and local people. As residents, they have inhabited the area for many years and learned about its culture. Meanwhile, a tourist’s goal when visiting another country or region is to gain a deeper understanding of a brand-new culture through several activities, such as exploring historical monuments and visiting a local museum. In my experience, when I lived in Magelang, from childhood I always came to visit Borobudur Temple, so I always chose a different tourist spot when someone visited Magelang. On the other hand, there is no denying that government policies also contribute to this trend. Due to the fact that their goals are drawing the attention of outside visitors rather than paying attention to their own citizens. This is also a justification for the matter.

Secondly, the perception of museums and historical sites is that they are too old and not attractive for young people. However, this perception could be changed by holding more attractive exhibits or events at these sites to stimulate local interest. For example, the museum could hold futuristic exhibitions, such as virtual reality to make the experience more immersive and exciting. In addition, the promoters could offer some special discounts to local residents.

In conclusion, focusing on how change local residents’ perceptions by prioritizing appropriate attractions as mentioned above surely change their motivations regarding museums and historical sites and can increase the local residents’ visits.