Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that a large number of people have took advantage of social networking sites to maintain contact with others and keep updated with current news. Although this trend has some disadvantages, I believe that negative influences are overshadowed by several advantages

On the one hand, the regular use of social media for communication and information exerts detrimental effects on human well-being and abilities to use social skills. The main drawback is that mental issues can arise due to the excessive utilization of online platforms. In the contemporary world, individuals can spend multiple hours scrolling their Facebook notifications. In the long run, they can be easily subject to psychological disorders such as depression or autism due to the lack of real-life interaction. Another downside lies with incompetence for social capabilities. Without face-to-face meeting, people can struggle to foster communication or teamwork skills. Accordingly, if the problem is not solved, an individual may face uphill difficulities in their real lives.

On the other hand, I believe that its advantages outweigh the aforementioned disadvantages. Firstly, their bonds with friends and family members can be strengthened. An increasing number of people nowadays have decided to leave their homes to megacities in pursuit of education and employment opportunities. Therefore, social networking sites provide them with an effective communication tool to keep in touch with their relatives, enhancing their family closeness and friendship. Secondly, social platforms also offer a quick access to valuable information to users. While peole in the past had to visit newstands to acquire new information, it can be more straightforward for modern-day people since they just need a digital tool like smartphone or laptop to gain insight into current news.

In conclusion, despite some adverse impacts, I hold the opinion that this trend brings more benefits.