Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, social media platforms have evolved into an indispensable aspect in the lives of many people, especially the youth. Although the emergence of these platforms is associated with some unwanted outcomes, I believe they are pale in comparison with the benefits they bring.

On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of social media is its addictive nature. The constant stream of notifications, the endless scrolling, and the dopamine rush associated with likes and comments can lead to excessive use. Consequently, the over-exposure to social media can pose a threat to people’s health, both mentally and physically. For instance, a recent study found that individuals who spend more than two hours per day on social media are more likely to experience symptoms of addiction, such as withdrawal, cravings, and loss of control.”

On the flip side, netizens can derive substantial benefits from social media networks if they are used reasonably. Firstly, these platforms serve as a potent medium for people to stay connected with their loved ones. Nowadays, thanks to technological advancements, it is feasible to send text and voice messages and make video calls at any time, bridging the physical divide among individuals. Secondly, once people create an online profile, they can keep up with a vast amount of news, whether it is current affairs or gossip columns, with a few simple clicks and swipes. As a result, internet users can widen their horizons and become more knowledgeable.

In conclusion, I reckon that the benefits of social media platforms far outweigh the addictive tendencies they may induce in a limited segment of users.