Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, more and more people are using social networking sites to communicate with each other and to catch up on news. While it brings us many benefits, this kind of communication also has its own drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this before giving my own perspective.

On the one hand, people can be beneficial from social media because of its accessibility and convenience. With the presence of Internet everywhere, people can have up-to-date information all the time. Even when they stay in an isolated area in developed countries, they still can contact their friends, family and colleagues. This really makes their lives easier and more efficient.

However, this kind of communication also has its disadvantages related to costumers’ security and harrassment. First, when using Facebook, Tiktok or Instagram, for example, users’ private information is likely to be stolen. Research has shown that many users already give complaint about loosing their privacy and many officers from these companies are arrested for this kind of crime. Also, people can encounter harrassment by comments on the Internet. And this is easy to happen because people can use their account as anonymous participants.

Personally, I think even though social media have several benefits for its users, its disadvantages are more.

In conclusion, while social media can make it easier for users to communicate, I think they should consider other aspects to use it more effectively.