Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether using social platforms to contact other people and keep up to date with the latest news on a daily basis brings more benefits or drawbacks. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this situation clearly surpass its advantages.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people think utilizing social media is beneficial. Online platforms not only allow users to stay in touch with loved ones and reconnect with old friends, but they also facilitate expanding social circles as people can connect with others regardless of geographic location so that they can find their community globally by sharing their interests. Furthermore, staying informed on current events exposes individuals to diverse cultures and provides valuable insights into less familiar countries, such as Tuvalu and Tonga, ultimately reducing stereotypes and fostering a more open-minded, inclusive attitude towards these nations.

On the other hand, I believe that there are stronger drawbacks of using social media on a regular basis. Constant connection between people often interferes with the bonding time that people share in real life; for instance, notifications and messages from these social networks may prevent them from having intimate conversations with their loved ones. This may lead to a decrease in the quality and number of meaningful in-person conversations. Moreover, social platforms are designed for people to share the highlights of their lives but not the whole story, which can lead to feelings of inadequacy, low self-esteem, and mental health issues like depression and anxiety. Another issue to consider is that without media literacy skills, the bombardment of disinformation would take a toll on these people. Since they cannot distinguish between fake and real news, disinformation would act as a corrosive force, eroding faith in institutions and fostering division within communities.

In conclusion, it is apparent that utilizing social platforms to stay updated with other people and news events every day offers more disadvantages than advantages.