Many people believe that schools should teach children to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people have the view that it is better to educate kids to become good citizens and employees than self-supporting individuals. This is in complete contradiction to my thoughts. I will justify my views with relevant instances.

To start with, the main reason why tutors ought to teach students to be self-reliant is that it benefits their self-responsibility and leadership skills as they grow older. This can be explained by the fact that being independent is a great advantage to be a good worker and nationalist, as they have grown up getting things done on their own. This can lead to convenience in work fields. To provide an example, independent kids are more likely to be flexible and patient, making them greater in terms of employees and citizens.

Another significant reason is that schools have a duty to guide students about society. This is due to the fact that, lessons in school are not always correct or can be applied to real-life situations all the time. By instructing children ahead about society’s values, it leads them of their awareness, self-consciousness and decision making. A good instance for this would be, choosing majors for university is a tough decision for most young people in Cambodia as we rarely make determinations, so when it comes to just minor struggles, young people tend to hesitate and stressed out.

In conclusion, teaching juveniles to be self-dependent from early age can result in the rise of great staffs in workplaces and responsible citizens in society.