Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

In this modern period, the use of social media is rising day by day. They help to make communication with others in short period of time whether they are in any place of the world. This has become a basic need in this contemporary time. It has certain benefits like real time interaction and socialization, it also some drawbacks such as waste of time and misinformation.

Firstly, we spend most of our time on social media websites and most of us are known to the fact that it is killing one of the precious thing. i.e. time. Most of the youths today, scrolls hundreds and thousands of reels either on instagram or facebook which is keeping them away from working and studying. Due to this, they are loosing their creativity day by day which is slowing the development of society. A study done in South Korea shows that youngsters of 1990 were with IQ level of 190 whereas it has declined to 110 in 2020. This tells us that our society is lacking a intellectual person to run it. Moreover, looking constantly on screen damages our eyes and health also. Individuals usually skips their exercise and spend most of their time on phones and computers.

Secondly, there is lack of proper security in this platforms. There is always a high chance of spreading false information in the internet. For instance, in election of 2015, a fake news was spreaded by opposition party against home minister of Nepal, Mr. Rabi Lamichhane. In that election he lost due to the misinformation in social sites. So, it is very difficult to stop chaos in conditions like pandemic, war and election.

In conclusion, social media are benefical to us if we only use it in a proper way so, it doesn’t become threat to our society.