Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

In recent times, social media is an engaging outlet used by many individuals in different societies. Many argue that social media negatively affected individual’s minds and society’s standards. I believe that the outcomings of social platforms negatively effects individuals and societies.

Social media sites’ drawbacks are clearly shown in individuals. Firstly, people are more prone to mental health issues on social media. People post their own videos/ pictures publicly for the whole world to see. Many receive cruel backlash, hurtful comments and insults which destructs their self-esteem. Resulting in mental problems like anxiety and depression. Secondly, posts and videos on Facebook or any other platform leads to less focused minds. When scrolling for hours, looking at short 15 second videos, the mind gets easily distracted. Eventually leading to short attention spans. With the vast spread of social media platforms, many people suffer through the entertainment it brings us.

With regards to the society, public platforms damages society. Instead of upbringing wonderful ideas to the society, many harmful and toxic traits are being spread. Lying, cheating, vandalizing are some of the most popular concepts being normalized in multiple societies. Also, societal bonds are being fragmented. Many people within local communities form special bonds with people online instead of their next-door neighbor. This ultimately leads to a corrupt, untrusting society with little to no communication between individuals in a society.

To conclude, although social media outlets are perceived as a form of entertainment with numerous advantages, its drawbacks are far more than its benefits. Individuals should keep out for their mental health and focus while societies should form precious bonds with each other.