Many people believe that social networking sites (such as twitter) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People fall into two camps as to whether social media—Twitter and Instagram—have a negative impact on young minds. While I do not disregard the fact that overuse of social media diverts children’s attention and energy away from their studies and sometimes may result in online fraud, I am more inclined to say it is of benefit since it helps students broaden their knowledge and socialize with people from different backgrounds.

Twitter and other social media platforms are disadvantageous which can be justified on several grounds. Admittedly, videos and contents that are shared on social media platforms are engaging and fascinating. The attractive nature of those videos never fails to grab people’s attention. So, spending too much time scrolling on social media may distract children from their studies. This distraction, coupled with a lack of sleep caused by excessive internet use, may result in poor academic performance.

moreover, social media is a fertile ground for fraudulent activities. In other words, social media platforms often require users to insert their personal information while registering for those platforms. However, hackers may sometimes employ artificial sites that resemble the real platform itself to get an access to users information. Hackers may use personal data to disgrace the users and demand money with menaces. For instance, last year, my friend lost $300 while registering for a fake Instagram account. Hence, one would be right to assert that social media is an overall negative influence.

In my opinion, however, if used properly, social media is a good source of new experiences and knowledge. First and foremost, there are sites like YouTube, where thousands of useful videos are available. These videos are shared for free and can be used for educational purposes. My own learning path is a good case in point. Were it not for useful online videos on online platforms, I would not be able to get a higher score in my IELTS exam. Having used platforms like Discord, I managed to improve my speaking and engage in various conversations with people from other corners of the world. This not only helped me improve my knowledge but also helped enrich my knowledge about other cultures and traditions.

To summarize, while there are some issues with this, I believe that if used properly, social media can provide people with invaluable insights and knowledge