Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing?

World has evolved, so does people and their lifestyles. We are in an era where numerous trends, products and services emerge from time to time. Human beings are constantly in need of following trends such as taking impulsive decisions in buying new products and replacing old ones in an unstoppable way. This essay outlines how the purchases affect one’s livelihood in a good and bad way.

People buy unnecessary products by following trends. It is not that they actually want it, instead they are trying to fit it with trends for purposes like boasting most of the time in current society. It goes along with the product manufacturers too. Manufacturers deploys majority of the products which are terrible and not supportive to mankind. The fact that manufacturers fool people is rising globally due to different demands. Demands leads to unnecessary product innovations and purchases. Mankind easily gets influenced by new products, leading to follow and purchase without trying to recycle or thrift. Social media has greatly influenced people in making these kinds of impulsive decisions which are useless most of the time.

Unwanted waste of products utilized at households eventually leads to environmental pollution whereas almost all products are not recyclable. Loading piles of plastics, metal products and items made out of animals has now become a trend in household store rooms. According to my opinion, this mode of replacing products is not acceptable. Because there are plenty of sustainable decisions that can be taken before replacing a product such as thrifting clothes and buying recyclable products therefore people can buy new products without wasting the old ones.

People can consider before making impulsive decisions and think of more sustainable methods. Following and influencing trends in society must not be accepted. To conclude, people can make an impact by supporting environmentally friendly businesses to avoid various ill friendly practices.