Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing?

A number of people purchase products that they do not need and the old ones get replaced with new products without necessity. I believe that this type of mindset comes from earlier years, when our ancestors lived in a time where food was difficult to find, and they bought everything in case of food shortages. Unfortunately, I do not think this is a good habit, due to different reasons. The main issue is that throwing away the “untouched” food, when there are many people who suffer from hunger is not a beneficial idea, moreover buying and wasting unnecessary food is one of the most common reasons for global warming nowadays.

Firstly, our ancestors were scared that there would be a food crisis, for that reason they bought too many things and replaced them with something new, but those tough times have passed and now there are no fears for products in my generation. Furthermore, the younger generation is more concerned to help and hand those items to people who really need it. For instance, there are many children in Africa who really need some kind of support, and every gram of food can change their lives.

Secondly, nowadays, marketing plays a huge role in product waste. Many influencers do an advertisement in social media and make people buy things they do not need. For example, there are many different types of the same product, but because of an excellent marketing strategy, society is focused on fancy ones.

Thirdly, there is always competition among human beings in the 21st century. This race is caused by the mindset of the generations and their desire to create an illusion of a wealthy lifestyle. All people make a comparison and do not want to become an outsider. Therefore, they buy expensive items of clothing, technology even if it is not essential.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that this topic is controversial. Moreover, unnecessary purchases may lead to some devastating situations. That is why people should start thinking about dealing with this problem.